The Love Square #BookReview #thelovesquare @harper360 #chicklit #bookworm #adultfiction #britishlit

Synopsis from HarperCollins:

Men are like buses. You wait for one…

Penny Bridge has always been unlucky in love.

So she can’t believe it when she meets a remarkable new man.

Followed by another.

And then another…

And all of them want to date her.

Penny has to choose between three. But are any of them The One?

The bestselling author of Our Stop will have you laughing, crying and cheering Penny on in this funny and feel-good exploration of hope, romance and the trust it takes to finally fall in love. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane’s If I Never Met You and Beth O’Leary’s The Flatshare.

About: The Love Square is an adult LGBT chick lit written by Laura Jane Williams. It was recently published on 2/9/2021 by Avon, an imprint of HarperCollins, paperback, 352 pages. The genres are British Literature, LGBT, contemporary romance, and adult fiction. According to Harper Collins’ website, the company is the second-largest consumer book publisher in the world, originally founded by two bothers, James and John Harper in New York City in 1817 and currently has publishing operations in 18 countries. Please see below for more information about the author and publisher.

Charlie’s gender is they/them so here’s an example of how it’s used.

My Experience: I started reading The Love Square on 3/3/2021 and finished it on 3/7/2021. This book was a fantastic read! A heart to heart trouble of being single and looking for mister right, but also figuring out what makes us most happy. I loved reading the getting to know stage where there’s a lot of flirting and bantering. Midnight came and went but the read was so cute I didn’t want to put down. This is what I love reading chick lit books for! Francesco was definitely a swoon worthy guy who knew all the right things to say. I like the sisters relationship with their personal podcasts. I’m glad this book explained about gender non-binary. I have seen it on email signatures and Twitter/Instagram profiles but haven’t a clue on it. I love learning stuffs through fiction novels (attached picture from book above).

This book started with a prologue, where Penny and Francesco split up against each other’s will because Penny is moving to the country and long distance just doesn’t work. Then the story began, following Penny, 30, a cook and an owner of a cafe, told in the third person point of view. Survivor of breast cancer at 25, she’s feeling low that she hadn’t had a real relationship in 5 years. Her last serious boyfriend left when she was diagnosed with cancer just like her father bailed out on her mother. Finding love and trusting someone could love her was a big issue. She also has plans for herself, something she really wanted but she had to put it aside when her uncle took ill. Life was full of challenges and choices. Readers will get the alternative view from Francesco, but not every other chapter. The story concluded with an epilogue.

The Love Square was well written and a fast paced read. It’s sexy so mature readers only. The genre indicated as LGBT, but it was not with the main character as I thought, but with supporting characters. The non-traditional family situation was interesting. This book has good diversity on characters’ backgrounds and modern ways of life. I love reading British literature on account of learning about life in a foreign country. I enjoyed the author’s informative acknowledgment about how much work went into publishing a book. I highly recommend everyone to read this book!

Tag Lines: light hearted read, fast paced, finding love, cooking, family, friendship, diversity

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping: Book Depository or HarperCollins’ website

About the Author:

Laura Jane Williams is a writer whose work has appeared everywhere from the Guardian to Buzzfeed, Stylist, Closer, the Metro and the Telegraph. She is Grazia’s former dating columnist, and the author of two previous works of non-fiction: Ice Cream for Breakfast and Becoming, as well as the bestselling novel Our Stop. (Photo and info obtained from HarperCollins’ website).

More Information about Harper Collins

Website: https://www.harpercollins.com | Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HarperCollinsch | Twitter: https://twitter.com/Harper360| Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/harper360

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to HarperCollins 360 for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,

Jasmine

7 thoughts on “The Love Square #BookReview #thelovesquare @harper360 #chicklit #bookworm #adultfiction #britishlit

Please share my reviews :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.