Comfort Me with Apples #BookReview @catvalente @tordotcompub #comfortmewithapples #thrillerbooks #mysterybook #fantasybook #bookworm

Synopsis from Macmillan Publishers:

Comfort Me With Apples is a terrifying new thriller from bestseller Catherynne M. Valente, for fans of Gone Girl and Spinning Silver

Sophia was made for him. Her perfect husband. She can feel it in her bones. He is perfect. Their home together in Arcadia Gardens is perfect. Everything is perfect.

It’s just that he’s away so much. So often. He works so hard. She misses him. And he misses her. He says he does, so it must be true. He is the perfect husband and everything is perfect.

But sometimes Sophia wonders about things. Strange things. Dark things. The look on her husband’s face when he comes back from a long business trip. The questions he will not answer. The locked basement she is never allowed to enter. And whenever she asks the neighbors, they can’t quite meet her gaze….

But everything is perfect. Isn’t it?

About: Comfort Me with Apples is a mystery thriller written by Catherynne M. Valente. It will be published on 10/26/2021 by Tor.com, an imprint of Macmillan Publishers, paperback, 112 pages. The genres are mystery thriller, adult fiction, retelling, horror, and fantasy. According to the publisher’s website, “Tor.com is an online magazine and community site that covers science fiction, fantasy, and all the many related subjects that interest us as readers.” Please see below for more information about the author and publisher.

My Experience: I started reading Comfort Me with Apples on 9/2/2021 and finished it on 9/7/2021. Definitely a fantastic read! This book is unlike anything I have read recently and I loved it. I go into this book without knowing anything like I always do and I got a surprise every step of the way. I loved the story, very unexpected and interesting. Sophia was a well liked character. I also liked that she has a mind of her own and questioned things when things don’t seem right. That play the neighbors put up was unexpected and like Sophia, I didn’t see what was coming. The ending was a big surprise for me. I didn’t see it coming and I loved it.

This book started with an agreement from Arcadia Gardens Homeowners Association, an upscale gated luxury community to its residents. These rules were spread out throughout the book. Then the story began with Sophia as she woke up feeling blessed that she was made solely for her husband. He spoiled her with a big house and a big bed. She’s a small woman who needed step stools to get down from the bed and sit on 3 pillows to see herself in the mirror at her vanity table. Before she go downstairs to clean the house and do the laundry, she decided to open a drawer on her desk normally left alone and found a lock of hair that isn’t hers. At dinner she ate alone because her husband didn’t come home and after washing she put away the knife to discover a bone hidden in the knife block. She started to question her surroundings only to discover more horrors than she ever knew.

Comfort Me with Apples was very well written and a fast paced read! I loved the author’s writing. It flowed well and I was hooked. I read slowly to savor this one of a kind story. There were some horror parts but luckily I didn’t feel scared. When I first unbox this book, a fellow bookstagrammer told me that I was lucky to read this author’s new release. Now I agreed. I will definitely look up the author’s previous books to read because I enjoyed her writing greatly. I highly recommend everyone to read this book!

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping: Book Depository or Macmillan’s website

About the Author:

Catherynne M. Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of over two dozen works of fiction and poetry, including Palimpsest, the Orphan’s Tales series, Deathless, Radiance, and the crowdfunded phenomenon The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making (and the four books that followed it). She is the winner of the Andre Norton, Tiptree, Sturgeon, Eugie Foster Memorial, Mythopoeic, Rhysling, Lambda, Locus, and Hugo awards, as well as the Prix Imaginales. Valente has also been a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine with a small but growing menagerie of beasts, some of which are human. (Photo and info obtained from Macmillan’s website).

More Information about Tor.com

Website: https://publishing.tor.com | Instagram: www.Instagram.com/tordotcompub | Twitter: www.Twitter.com/tordotcompub | Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/TorDotComPub

***Disclaimer: Many thanks to Tor.com for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,

Jasmine

5 thoughts on “Comfort Me with Apples #BookReview @catvalente @tordotcompub #comfortmewithapples #thrillerbooks #mysterybook #fantasybook #bookworm

Leave a Reply to Jasmine Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.