That Egg is Mine #BookReview #thateggismine #picturebook #childrensbook #kidsbook #bookworm @sourcebookskids

Synopsis from Sourcebooks:

The first book in Duck & Cluck, a brand new funny graphic novel series for beginning readers—perfect for fans of Mo Willems and Elephant and Piggie.

Meet Duck and Cluck. They are friends. Mostly. But they do not always agree.

Duck has found an egg. Cluck thinks the egg belongs to her instead. And sharing? Out of the question!

This simple but hilarious read-aloud follows the two friends as they make their case for why the egg belongs to them. And in the end, they both learn important lessons about manners and sharing. That Egg is Mine is the perfect laugh-out-loud purchase for any kindergarten or first-grader learning to read, or for anyone searching for comic books for ages 6-8.

About: That Egg is Mine: A Silly Story about Sharing is a children’s book written and illustrated by Liz Goulet Dubois. It was published on 2/1/2022 by Sourcebooks Jabberwocky, an imprint of Sourcebooks, hardcover, 40 pages. The genres are picture book and children’s fiction. This book is intended for readers ages 3 to 8, grades P to 3. According to the publisher’s website, “Sourcebooks’ mission is to reach as many people as possible through books that will enlighten their lives. We are a company bound together by the idea that Books. Change. Lives. For us, it means a passion for books and a dedication to the belief that books change lives. It means innovative publishing, where every book is personal and every author’s voice has a place. And it means not being afraid to say “I don’t know” and forging a new path when we have to. We are a group of passionate, energetic and enthusiastic book lovers, and we are committed to helping readers experience each book.” Please see below for more information about the author, illustrator, and publisher.

My Experience: I started reading That Egg is Mine for my toddler’s bedtime on 4/28/2022 and we finished it that same night. We have since read it again a few times. A great read! My toddler and I loved the surprise at the end. She also loved how the egg rolled all over. I enjoyed the illustrations especially when Duck grabbed Cluck’s leg from running off with his egg. Their facial and bodily expressions were funny. The surprise at the end was definitely unexpected. It was good that Cluck apologized for accusing Duck of being a thief and I liked that Duck was easily forgiving.

This book followed Duck and Cluck. Cluck accused Duck of stealing her egg. She said she hid it behind a ladder and covered it with hay. The egg is blue with white spots which is the exact color of Cluck. However, Duck’s beak also shared the same color patterns. Cluck wanted Duck to tell her where he found his egg. Duck said how he found the egg was a funny story and then he proceeded to tell Cluck. After hearing Duck’s story, Cluck was confirmed that the egg didn’t belong to Duck. Duck thought it’s his because he found it. Cluck tried to trick Duck into letting her borrow it to have a closer look but she ran off with the egg. During their run and chase, the egg dropped and cracked. A baby crawled out and both Duck and Cluck had a surprise of their lives!

That Egg is Mine was a funny story. My toddler asked for me to read the story for her often. Utilizing silliness to teach about sharing makes reading more fun for young readers. I love humor in my reading and this book didn’t disappoint. I liked that Duck’s beak has the same color patterns as the egg so it was hard to tell if the egg wasn’t Duck’s. Disagreement happens often and it’s good for kids to read this book and relate. When both Duck and Cluck realized that they have made a mistake, they didn’t hesitate to admit to it. A great read and I recommend everyone to read this book!

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping: Book Depository or Sourcebooks’ website

About the Author:

Liz Goulet Dubois is an author/illustrator and product designer who lives in Rhode Island. When she’s not creating quirky and engaging stories for kids, she’s designing giftware and toys. (Photo and info obtained from Sourcebooks’ website).

More Information about Sourcebooks

Website: https://www.sourcebooks.com | Twitter: https://twitter.com/sourcebooks and www.twitter.com/sourcebookskids| Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sourcebooks | Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sourcebooks/ and www.Instagram.com/sourcebookskids

***Many thanks to Sourcebooks Kids for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,

Jasmine

Please share my reviews :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.