Pineapple Princess #BookReview #picturebook #childrensbook #kidsbook #kidlit @mackidsbooks #bookworm @meanwhileplaces #pineappleprincess

Synopsis from Macmillan Publishers:

A sly, hilarious, and bold picture book from debut creator Sabina Hahn about a fierce little girl who commandeers a rotting pineapple for a royal crown—perfect for fans of Eloise and Olivia.

This misunderstood little girl is certain she’s a princess—despite the protests of her family. One afternoon she’s struck by a brilliant idea. Princesses wear crowns and she knows exactly where to get one.

She gets to work—decimating her midday snack until she has a pineapple headpiece fit for royalty. Is she sticky? Yes. Does her tummy feel funny? Yes. Is she very important? Absolutely.

What follows is a power rush of epic proportions and a horde of eager subjects in the form of flies. Unfortunately, her new subjects take direction. . . poorly. As this princess’s kingdom slowly devolves into chaos, both her rule and her pineapple crown begin to fall apart.

Pineapple Princess is a laugh-out-loud funny debut, perfect for every intrepid, young megalomaniac in the making.

About: Pineapple Princess is a children’s fiction written and illustrated by Sabina Hahn. It was recently published on 5/31/2022 by Roaring Brook Press, an imprint of Macmillan Publishers, hardcover, 40 pages. The genres are children’s fiction and picture book. This book is intended for readers ages 4 to 8. According to the publisher’s website, “Roaring Brook Press is a publisher of high-quality literature for young readers of all ages, from toddler to teen, and in all categories: picture books, fiction, and nonfiction.” Please see below for more information about the author and publisher.

My Experience: I started reading Pineapple Princess for my toddler’s bedtime on 6/6/2022 and we finished it that same night. I brought this book to Sandestin Beach vacation with my family and my husband read it for our daughter at the end of May as a bedtime story for the few nights we were there. Fantastic picture book! I loved the humor. I had fun creating a pineapple crown for my daughter to wear (see my Instagram video: Here) but it’s a bit heavy so my son wears it for the picture in this post instead! This book is original. I haven’t read a story quite like it and it’s wonderful. I liked the character. She’s determined. She took action. She tried before deciding that it wasn’t for her. She had no problem moving on, determined to make the new title work for her.

This book followed a girl. She’s upset because she knew she’s a princess but nobody believed her. She set out to obtain a crown to make her title legitimate. While she’s a princess, she made her own rules including eating whatever she wanted in her bedroom. A few days later after she wore her pineapple crown, her followers started arriving and they stayed with her. They dined with her, attended concerts, and royal hunts. Soon Pineapple Princess noticed problems. Her followers were constantly around her demanding her attention. They ate her foods and ruined her hair. As a Princess, she had to make tough decisions. She captured some of them and had to execute others. They bothered her too much that she decided she didn’t want to be a princess anymore.

Pineapple Princess was well written and illustrated. An amazing debut. Original idea. Unputdownable read. Exciting new humor. The illustrations were excellent. Loved the pop of colors. The girl’s expressions were funny. My toddler loved the story and asked for it often at bedtime. The details were great. My toddler and I played “I spy with my little eyes” especially on the kitchen page because there were many things to find such as cookies, cat, frog, rainbow, etc. The ending was a “rolling on the floor” laughing because she was doing the lasso for a horse! This book was awesome from the front cover to the back cover! Picture book is normally intended for kids to read but I think an adult would have a greater time reading this book. I do, however, highly recommend everyone to read this story!

I rate it 5 stars!

Buy it here for free shipping: Book Depository or Macmillan’s website

About the Author:

Sabina Hahn is a Brooklyn based illustrator, animator, and sculptor who loves stories and tall tales. Sabina has been drawing from before she was born; she is a master of capturing subtle fleeting expressions and the most elusive of gestures. She is a co-founder of Interval Studios. Pineapple Princess is her debut picture book. (Photo and info obtained from Macmillan’s website).

More Information about Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group

Website: https://us.macmillan.com/mackids/ | Instagram: www.instagram.com/mackidsbooks | Twitter: www.twitter.com/mackidsbooks

***Many thanks to MacKidsBooks for the opportunity to read and review. Please be assured that my opinions are honest.

xoxo,

Jasmine

Please share my reviews :-)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.